EDM.com Spotlight

EDM.com Spotlight

Avicii, Calvin Harris & Daft Punk Nominated For 'Song Of The Year' By BMI

AviciiCalvin Harris & Ellie GouldingDaft Punk, and TJR have been nominated for "Song of the Year" by the BMI London Awards. The award ceremony will take place on October 13th. We have included the full nominee list for "Song of the Year" below.

'Don't Stop The Party'
Performed by: Pitbull featuring TJR 

'Everything Has Changed'
Performed by: Taylor Swift featuring Ed Sheeran

'Feel This Moment'
Performed by: Pitbull featuring Christina Aguilera

'Friday Night'
Performed by: Eric Paslay

'Get Lucky'
Performed by: Daft Punk featuring Pharrell Williams

'I Need Your Love' 
Performed by: Calvin Harris featuring Ellie Goulding

'Let Her Go'
Performed by: Passenger

'Next To Me'
Performed by: Emeli Sandé

'Wake Me Up'
Performed by: Avicii

'Wrecking Ball'
Performed by: Miley Cyrus

It's no big surprise to see Avicii, Calvin Harris, Ellie Goulding, and Daft Punk nominated for this type of award. However, it's a bit shocking to see TJR nominated for the award. His song "Funky Vodka" was used by Pitbull as the beat for "Don't Stop The Party." "Funky Vodka" was at #1 on the Beatport Top 100 at one point, and Pitbull and his management realized the potential the instrumental had as the backing track for a pop song. 

Which song do you think will win Song of the Year? Let us know in the comments below!

[H/T: Digital Spy]

Follow EDM.com: