EDM.com Spotlight

EDM.com Spotlight

Jean-Michel Jarre Drops New Album Feat. Boys Noize, Moby, Massive Attack & More

Legendary electronic pioneer Jean-Michel Jarre released his latest album Electronica: The Time Machine this week on Ultra Music, featuring collaborations with a variety of musicians and producers, including Armin van Buuren, M83, Gesaffelstein, Pete Townsend, John Carpenter, Moby and more. The new album is the first in a two part series that features over 30 major collabs, with volume two due next spring.

The new album opens with "The Time Machine" with Boys Noize, a track that references Jarre's pioneering work with analog synthesizers with slowly building arpeggios and spacey atmospheres. On "Conquistador", Jarre pairs up with French producer Gesaffelstein for a slow burning jam full of ominous choral sounds, robotic synths, and slow, heavy percussion. Horror director John Carpenter makes an appearance on "A Question Of Blood", a dark atmospheric track full of gloomy synth strings that would fit in with Carpenter's famous soundtrack work.

Previously heard tracks "Stardust" with Armin van Buuren and "Glory" with M83 serve as highlights on the album, while "Watching You" with one half of Massive Attack winds up another strong selection with it's dark plodding bassline and chopped up vocal trickery.

Jarre's influential sound is on full display here, as he implements classic synthesizer sounds and electronic percussion throughout the new album. With a major collaboration on every track of the album, his latest work will serve to introduce the pioneering musician to a whole new generation of listeners entranced by the exotic sounds of electronic music. With its eclectic array of collaborators, Electronica 1 plays like a collection of tracks rather than a cohesive whole, a move that sees the work ready to be distributed into playlists and mixes for today's listener.

Listen to Electronica 1: The Time Machine and watch the track story for "Close Your Eyes" with Air below, and then purchase the new album here.

Follow Jean-Michel Jarre: