EDM.com Spotlight

EDM.com Spotlight

See What Dance Music Artists Were Nominated for MTV Video Music Awards

The 2016 MTV Video Music Award nominations are in. Beyonce broke a PR with 11 nominations this year for her revolutionary HBO special Lemonade, while Adele took home eight nominations and Drake received seven. Video of the Year will go to either Beyonce for "Formation," Adele for "Hello," Justin Bieber for "Sorry," Kanye West for "Famous" or Drake for "Hotline Bling."

Calvin Harris is this year's dance music artist with the most VMA nominations, appearing in the Best Male Video, Best Collaboration and Best Electronic Video categories. Other dance music nominees this year include Alesso, Afrojack, The Chainsmokers and 99 Souls. See who they're up against below...


Drake – “Hotline Bling”
Bryson Tiller – “Don’t”
Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna – “This Is What You Came For”
Kanye West – “Famous”
The Weeknd – “Can’t Feel My Face”


Beyoncé ft. Kendrick Lamar – “Freedom”
Fifth Harmony ft. Ty Dolla $ign – “Work From Home”
Ariana Grande ft. Lil Wayne – “Let Me Love You”
Calvin Harris ft. Rihanna – “This Is What You Came For”
Rihanna ft. Drake – “Work” (short version)


Calvin Harris & Disciples – “How Deep Is Your Love”
99 Souls ft. Destiny’s Child & Brandy – “The Girl Is Mine”
Mike Posner – “I Took A Pill In Ibiza”
Afrojack – “SummerThing!”
The Chainsmokers ft. Daya – “Don’t Let Me Down”


Beyoncé – “Formation” (Cinematographer: Malik Sayeed)
Adele – “Hello” (Cinematographer: André Turpin)
David Bowie – “Lazarus” (Cinematographer: Crille Forsberg)
Alesso – “I Wanna Know” (Cinematographer: Corey Jennings)
Ariana Grande – “Into You” (Cinematographer: Paul Laufer)

The artists who are up for Video of the Year were initially announced in a Facebook Live video depicting top street artists creating a mural of the nominees in NYC (see below).

The big night will take place on Sunday, August 28 at Madison Square Garden and will air live at 9pm ET/PT. Submit your vote at mtv.com/vma/vote.