EDM.com Spotlight

EDM.com Spotlight

Music Licensing Database Reveals Guests on new Gorillaz album

As the anticipation builds for the release of the new Gorillaz album, a music licensing database has revealed the track listings and guests on this album.

You may be asking yourself, “why would a licensing database be responsible for such information?”. The answer is simple.

It’s a very common practice in the music industry to have your songs registered with a licensing database so they can collect royalties from various sources that play the registered material. In this case, the registered songs also give us a glimpse at who has been working with the band on their latest effort. According to the Phonographic Performance Limited’s website, Grace Jones, De La Soul, Vince Staples and Pusha T are some of the artists that have contributed to the newest Gorillaz album. The entire tracklist and collaborators that were found on the licensing database’s site are listed below.

In total, there are 19 tracks that were listed in the database that could possibly be on the latest album. While it’s unclear how many of those tracks will make it onto the album, I’m sure that all of them will be released at some point in the near future. With a variety of different guests on the album, it will be interesting to hear what kind of direction the band takes.

On top of their new album, the Gorillaz will also host a one day festival in the UK this summer in which they will be the headlining act. With all of this news, It would appear that the Gorillaz are eager to resurface after a few years of being dormant. 2017 looks to be a very active year for the band and one that should excite fans and the band, alike.

TBA Gorillaz Album Tracklist

‘Andromeda’ feat. D.R.A.M.
‘Ascension’ feat. Vince Staples’
‘Busted And Blue’
‘Carnival’ feat. Anthony Hamilton
‘Charger’ feat. Grace Jones
‘Circle Of Friendz’ feat. Brandon Markell Holmes
‘Halfway To The Halfway House’ feat. Peven Everett
‘Hallelujah Money’ feat. Benjamin Clementine
‘Interlude: Elevator Going Up’
‘Interlude: New World’
‘Interlude: Penthouse’
‘Interlude: Talk Radio’
‘Interlude: The Elephant’
‘Interlude: The Non-conformist Oath’
‘Intro: I Switched My Robot Off’
‘Let Me Out’ feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T
‘Momentz’ feat. De La Soul
‘Out Of Body’ feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz & Imani Voshana
‘Saturnz Barz’ feat. Popcaan
‘Sex Murder Party’ feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz
‘She’s My Collar’ feat. Kali Uchis
‘Strobelite’ feat. Peven Everett
‘Submission’ feat. Danny Brown & Kelela
‘The Apprentice’ feat. Rag’n’bone Man, Zebra Katz & Ray BLK
‘Ticker Tape’ feat. Carly Simon & Kali Uchis
‘We Got The Power’ feat. Jehnny Beth

H/T: Fact Mag