EDM.com Spotlight

EDM.com Spotlight

Ghost in the Shell’s Electronic Agenda (ft. Steve Aoki & more!)

Based off of Masamune Shirow’s Japanese manga series of the same name, Ghost in the Shell, starring the ever lovely Scarlett Johansson, was released worldwide on March 31st to a very tepid critical response.

However, the soundtrack it carries with it holds some fairly big names in the electronic music scene. With acts such as Steve Aoki, remixing Kenji Kawai’s “Utai IV Reawakening” with thunderous effect, and Above & Beyond contributing a dream-like escapade with their track, “Surge,” electronic music enthusiasts may find more pleasure in the soundtrack itself rather than the motion picture and there isn’t anything wrong with that!

As well as sporting an impressive soundtrack, the director of Ghost in the Shell, Rupert Sanders, lended a hand in creating six visually impressive music videos that are essentially media player visualizations but with more direction and also just in general much more enticing. The six videos can be found here and feature the works of Tricky, Johnny Jewel, Above & Beyond, Gary Numan, DJ Shadow, and Boys Noize.

You can stream the full album above and I truly recommend that you do!

The tracklist is as follows:

01) Kenji Kawai- "Utai IV Reawakening" (Steve Aoki remix)

02) Johnny Jewel - "The Hacker"

03) Boys Noize - "Cathryn's Peak"

04) DJ Shadow ft. Nils Frahm - "Scars"

05) Above & Beyond - "Surge"

06) IO Echo - "Aokigahara Forest" (Album Only)

07) Tricky - "Escape"

08) Ki: Theory - "Enjoy The Silence" (Album Only)

09) Johnny Jewel - "Free Fall"

10) Gary Numan - "Bed Of Thorns"

11) Johnny Jewel - "The Key"

12) Kenji Kawai- "Utai IV Reawakening"