Skip to main content

News headlines for the past month have heavily covered the wildfires devastating Australia and its inhabitants. Eager to help in any way possible, a group of Australian artists and industry figureheads quickly came together to organize an event with the goal of raising money in order to fund the all-important relief efforts. 

This one-of-a-kind, star-studded event took place on the night of Wednesday, January 29th, and the outpouring of support was absolutely tremendous. World-renowned acts such as What So Not, VASSY, Hook N Sling, Yolanda Be Cool, and GG Magree all came together under one roof to make it an undeniably special night for an incredibly worthy cause.

Make It Rain - Australia Bushfire Relief Event

In partnership with Insomniac Records, the all-star, all-Aussie lineup put on a truly unforgettable show and raised over $85,000 USD to send back home to the land down under - a massive haul considering that the goal was to raise $50k. When split between the charitable partners, that comes out to a grand total of nearly $AUD40,000 for each of the three organizations: NSW Wildlife Council (animals), Australian Red Cross (firefighters), and GivIt (rebuilding communities).

The outpouring of support wasn't just limited to the event itself, however. As the Make It Rain event took over the cover of the world’s biggest Spotify dance playlist ‘mint’ for a week, it’s a full-on Aussie takeover with 32 of the 100 tracks coming from Australian artists.

Recommended Articles

Tom Morello

Tom Morello Taps San Holo, Dr. Fresch, More for Exploratory Album, "The Atlas Underground Flood": Listen

Tom Morello's latest album shows that his creatively curious appetite is alive and well.

Alan Fitzpatrick

Alan Fitzpatrick On Why His First Album In Over a Decade "Feels Like His Debut"

"There’s a lot of music that could potentially be some of my best work that I’ve done on this album."

Elements+Lakewood+2+The+Rust+Music+AJR+Photo

Elements Festival Shares Roadmap of Improvements After Controversial 2021 Event

The organizers of the Pennsylvania electronic music festival are looking to make amends after their ill-fated 2021 edition.

“It was an event born from our deep desire to contribute remotely from L.A., and it felt so rewarding to lean on our networks for such an amazing cause,” said event co-founders Lorne Padman (Dim Mak), Brooklyn Allan (Narrative PR), and Andie Leon (Academy LA).

For those who were unable to make the show, Insomniac will be streaming a recording of the sets on SiriusXM's Diplo’s Revolution during the following time slots:

Wednesday - 2/5

  • GG Magree : 11am (PT) / 2pm (ET) 
  • Brooke Evers : 11:30am (PT) / 2:30pm (ET)
  • Feenixpawl : 12pm (PT) / 3pm (ET)
  • Nina Las Vegas : 12:30pm (PT) / 3:30pm (ET)
  • PNAU1pm (PT) / 4pm (ET) – 

Thursday - 2/6

  • Vassy : 10am (PT) / 1pm (ET)
  • Hook N Sling & Kaskade : 10:15am (PT) / 1:15pm (ET)
  • Don Diablo : 11am (PT) / 2pm (ET)

Friday - 2/7

  • What So Not : 11am (PT) / 2pm (ET)
  • tyDi : 12:15pm (PT) / 3:15pm (ET) 

Listeners are also encouraged to make donations to the Australian bushfire relief initiative at makeitrainevent.com. Any amount makes a difference to people in in their time of greatest need.

Related

Australian Bushfire

Australian Artists Come Together for Bushfire Fundraiser MAKE IT RAIN

What So Not, PNAU, Nina Las Vegas, Hook N Sling, tyDi, VASSY, Stafford Brothers, Yolanda Be Cool, GG Magree, Feenixpawl and more have come together on the event.

DSC06767

Chris Lake and Friends Came Together for an Australian Wildfire Relief Fundraiser

The concert, in conjunction with Sound Nightclub, FNGRS CRSSD, Goldenvoice and Black Book Records, raised an estimated $52,000.

rsf

Rainbow Serpent Festival Postponed Due to Australian Wildfires

The festival was set to take place January 24th-27th in Lexton, Victoria.

Dillon Francis in Seattle for AMFAMFAMF + Pinata (Space Needle)

Dillon Francis Loves Seattle, Especially with All My Friends

AMFAMFAMF approaches their second sold-out Seattle event with Dillon Francis' event, Hello Seattle, I Love You.

unnamed (2)

How Panorama 2018 Came Out on The Brighter Side Despite It All!

After having to cancel Day 1 due to thunderstorms, Panorama was back with a bang on Day 2 & 3 and here's how it went down.

yakz

The Bass Music Scene is Coming Together to Raise Funds for YAKZ's Emergency Surgery

A GoFundMe has already raised over $14,000 and a livestream fundraiser featuring SVDDEN DEATH has been planned by Space Yacht and Halcyon.

DSC_0622_preview

Music and Democracy Came Together Last Weekend With HeadCount at Okeechobee

This weekend Sunshine Grove was not only filled with music and fun but also with an educational experience on the U.S. political system.