Skip to main content

We love a new project! Empire of The Sun and The Sleepy Jackson's Luke Steele and Silverchair’s Daniel Johns have linked forces to create the super-duo, DREAMS.  Today, they have released their debut album No One Defeats Us.

Those expecting the lush pop layers and vocal nuances of Luke Steele or the trademark vocal stylings of Daniel Johns won’t be disappointed as DREAMS weaves it all together in an odd sonic hybrid of synthesizers and guitars while dipping in and out of pop, dance, hip-hop, and rock. 

The title track and first single, “No One Defeats Us,” is a war cry. It’s like the exorcism of a bad series of events, or a bad dream. “The single says lyrically what our goal is, it’s a journey into our vision of the future,” Johns explains. “We wanted to create a gang and have that song as our mantra.” “Silence,” the last song recorded for the album, was written by the duo in response to the violence that unfolded in Charlottesville in August 2017. Both tracks went on to receive the remix magic touch from the legendary Grandmaster Flash, to spectacular effect. “Love To Live” is a soaring track with stomping kick drums, delicious 80’s claps and hovering synths working together creating one of the most satisfying hooks on the record, all punctuated with glistening, quintessential Luke Steele vocals.

I'm loving this pairing. They've created a fun, funky, and thoughtful album. It's the perfect amalgamation of both artists sounds. You can feel their connection!

Take it for a spin and enjoy: 

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

EXIT Festival 2019

20 Photos That Show Why EXIT Is One of the Best Electronic Music Festivals In Europe

ZHU, Noisia, Afrojack, Calvin Harris and more are set to throw down at EXIT's 2022 edition.


Listen to TroyBoi's Woozy Trap Banger, "Never Felt This Way"

The surprise drop may signal a long-form project in the works.

armin van buuren david guetta

David Guetta and Armin van Buuren Announce First-Ever B2B DJ Set

The two dance music icons will join forces at Ushuaïa Ibiza in summer 2022.







CloZee Unveils Her Debut Album 'Evasion'

In the midst of the 40+ date North American Evasion Tour


PENDULUM DROPS "The Reworks" Album Today!

The line-up is STACKED with remixes from Noisa, Knife Party, Skrillex, Moby, and more!