Publish date:

G-Rex Showcases Latest Evolution on Fiery Requiem EP via Wakaan

The high-energy trap and bass producer releases his heaviest work to date

It has been quite the year for Jake Sweeney.

Sweeney — the Detroit-based producer behind the G-Rex project — entered last year as a relative unknown, but became a fixture of the bass scene in September with the release of his PEEKABOO collaboration, “Babatunde." Four months into 2019 the bass-heavy trap act is out to show he is still evolving as a producer, as evidenced on his latest EP, Requiem, out today via Wakaan.

The EP opens with “LADI”, a much-clamored-for track heavily teased by Sweeney on Liquid Stranger's INFINITY tour this spring. Running just over two minutes, G-Rex unleashes perhaps his most fiery, sinister work yet. It also showcases the progression in his dark-edged trap and bass production.

After warning the listener with an escalated drum and vocal procession, the track drops into a meat grinder of bass, sampling in screams, laughs and what appears to be fleeing horses neighing in the background. The production depth is far more complex than on previous G-rex releases, and perhaps why the Detroit DJ is so excited for this new project.

"Really excited to finally get this EP out,” said G-Rex, in a statement. “I feel like this body of work really shows the progression of my sound and is much more aggressive than the last."

Recommended Articles

tiesto masked wolf

Watch Platinum-Certified Rapper Masked Wolf Drop Unreleased Collab With Tiësto

Tiësto has teamed up with the man behind "Astronaut in the Ocean," one of 2021's biggest sleeper hits, for a brand new collab.

Lost Lands

Here Are the Lost Lands 2021 Set Times and Day-to-Day Schedules

Performances from Excision, Getter, Rusko, and Virtual Riot are among countless can't-miss sets from Lost Lands 2021.


Porter Robinson Highlights Anthony Fantano's Infamous "Worlds" Album Review During Festival Set

Anthony Fantano has published hundreds of album reviews, but few have driven the controversy compared to his take on Porter Robinson's debut.

G-Rex continues to build on the chaotic soundscape forged in the opener, following up with an equally combustable “ASYLUM.” The track recalls his trap and party rock roots, with bravado-laced vocals leading into slow-paced bass notes. "VOODOO" and "WARNING" wrap up the EP, with the latter track sending listeners off with sirens and low frequency bass.


Requiem shows that G-Rex is anything but a one-trick pony, and lends to the conclusion that a full-length project would be just as insatiable.

Stream or download Requiem by G-Rex across platforms here.




G-Rex at Palladium (Photo by Ausmonte)

G-Rex Ignites Spooky Season With Latest Single, "HITTA" [Premiere]

The Detroit producer solidifies his reputation for heavy-hitting singles with this Halloween-inspired tune.


G-REX & TVBOO Show Off Dual Strengths on Twisted Collab "Dweller" [Premiere]

The track was teased throughout Liquid Stranger's Ascension tour prior to its cancellation due to COVID-19.

Screen Shot 2019-07-25 at 10.39.23 AM

Hydraulix Delivers Explosive Space Cadet EP via Wakaan

The Australian-born producer made his much-hyped debut with the label ahead of playing their inaugural festival in the fall.

Zebbler Encanti

Zebbler Encanti Experience Release NSFW “Trance End” Video via Wakaan

The psychedelic video arrives just before the acclaimed duo kicks off their winter tour on November 15th.


INZO's Blookah Collaboration "Let It Slide" Marks Stellar Debut for the Wakaan Label

The Chicago producer went funkier and bassier than ever before with his first release with Liquid Stranger's label

BabatundeRemixEpArt-1000x1000 copy

Dirt Monkey Releases Wonky Remix of PEEKABOO's and G-REX's "Babatunde" [Premiere]

Out on Liquid Stranger's Wakaan label, the six-track remix package for "Babadunde" packs some much-needed heat.

LS (1)

Liquid Stranger Crafts Interstellar Sonic Adventure with Latest LP, Infinity [Review]

Wakaan boss Martin Stääf delivers his most diverse, emotional work yet on the 30-track LP due out February 15th.