Skip to main content

Electronic music producer and guitarist Jake Bowen has dropped another crumb from his anticipated sophomore album, a mesmeric cut featuring Elliot Coleman called "I Am Error."

"I Am Error" is a long time coming for Coleman and Bowen, who have known each other for 14 years but have never actually collaborated on an official release. The chemistry is palpable in this hypnotic slice of indietronica, which finds the former crooning over the latter's woozy, acoustic-driven production. Elements of lo-fi slither through an absorbing arrangement here as the nuances of Bowen's sound design ebb and flow between crisp, spacey claps.

Coleman's brooding lyrics in "I Am Error" explore loneliness and isolation—motifs we can all relate to as we trudge through the throes of the pandemic. Check out the single, which arrives by way of 3DOT Recordings, below.

"I Am Error" will appear on Bowen's forthcoming The Daily Sun album, due out on October 1st. It slides in next two two singles: the airy "Say Nothing" (featuring Abbi Press) and the record's titular track, a spellbinding instrumental jam rife with fluttery arpeggios.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

funeral graveyard

U.K. Funeral Breaks Out Into Impromptu Graveside Rave

The Witton Cemetery in Birmingham hosted a funeral that ended with an impromptu dance party.

The Daily Sun will be pressed on vinyl and Bowen will be limiting the run to 300 copies, which can be purchased here.


Hailing from New York, Bowen cut his teeth in the Grammy-nominated progressive metal band Periphery, whose 2010 self-titled debut album helped popularize djent music. In addition to releasing electronic music under his own name, he also produces and releases tracks as Four Seconds Ago, a nom de plume he operates in collaboration with Periphery bandmate Misha Mansoor.

You can watch Bowen and Coleman wax poetic about the origins of "I Am Error" in a recent Twitch stream here.





KREY Drops Hypnotic Single "Are You Waiting" Ahead of Debut Album

The track features crisp drum programming and a spellbinding topline from Akacia.


Crooked Colours Drop Hypnotic New Single "No Sleep" Along With Kaleidoscopic Visualizer

The track will appear on the group's forthcoming third full-length album due later this year.

K1 6143 PhotoBy Marcus Maschwitz

Kennedy One Drops Hypnotic Progressive House Single "Drive"

A mesmeric house tune perfect to get lost to on a long, late-night drive.

Crankdat Festival Stage Banner

Crankdat Kicks Off 2020 With New Monstercat Single, “Who I Am”

Start the decade off right with Crankdat’s chaotic, new bass tune.

nate jason 4

Audien Releases Final Single, "Reach," Ahead of Debut Album

Audien is closing out the year with his debut album release.