Get ready to float away on a cloud of dreams with Kasbo's new song "Play Pretend," featuring Ourchives. Out today via Counter Records and Foreign Family Collective, ODESZA's flagship imprint, it is the lead single from the blossoming producer's upcoming sophomore album, The Making of a Paracosm, due October 23rd. 

Known for his soft and emotive indie-electronic style, Kasbo reaches new depths with "Play Pretend," taking an edgier approach from the track's outset with muted synths reminiscent of Bob Moses and drum machine reverb layered underneath Ourchives' smoky vocal tones. At the same time, Kasbo seamlessly integrates this fresh approach with his signature ethereal soundscapes, building gently into a drop comprised of strong electronic chords and airy falsetto vocals. 

"It is a song about giving in to something you know in time will destroy you, but, at that moment, you decide to ignore that voice in your head and live in the moment, ignoring how destructive it might be," Ourchives said in a press release. 

Paired with a poignant and visually stunning music video, "Play Pretend" offers a promising look into The Making of a Paracosm. It foreshadows a stormier, more emotionally complex companion to Kasbo's 2018 debut album, Places We Don't Know, which earned him a Billboard Ones to Watch listing with its unhindered optimism and childlike whimsy. 

Recommended Articles

general club los angeles

Los Angeles Nightclubs to Require Proof of Vaccination for Entry

The new COVID-19 mandate will go into effect on October 7th.

illenium 30 seconds to mars

Watch ILLENIUM Debut Unreleased Collab With 30 Seconds to Mars

ILLENIUM dropped the alt-rock and EDM crossover, tentatively titled "Wouldn't Change a Thing," at the Las Vegas music festival Life Is Beautiful over the weekend.

bb king

A Posthumous EDM Song From B.B. King Is Being Released By the Blues Legend's Estate

“B.B. King is a cornerstone of Gibson’s music history, and we are honored to bring his legendary music and persona to a new audience."

This expectation aligns with recents posts to his social media and Spotify artist profile, which reads, "Paracosm: A prolonged imaginary world. Paracosms are thought generally to originate in childhood and have one or numerous creators; can have a definite geography and and language and history." 

Perhaps The Making of a Paracosm will describe just that, integrating sonics reminiscent of folklore from Kasbo's native Sweden and vocal features from a host of Swedish artists to tell the story of how Kasbo and his art came to be. You can check out the record's tracklist below.

The Making of a Paracosm tracklist:

  1. The Making of a Paracosm
  2. Play Pretend (feat. Ourchives)
  3. Shut the World Out (feat. Frida Sundemo)
  4. Blur
  5. För Evigt (feat. Florian Rosetti)
  6. Talk Slow (feat. Noomi)
  7. Augusti, 05:19 (Interlude)
  8. Vittra
  9. Lune (feat. Vancouver Sleep Clinic)
  10. Skogsrå
  11. Hemma
  12. Staying in Love (feat. Nea)
  13. Show You
  14. Snö (feat. Freja The Dragon)





Kasbo Returns to His Sonically Blissful Roots With "Show You"

"Show You," out today via Foreign Family Collective and Counter Records, sounds like a blast from Kasbo's past.


10 Questions with Kasbo on New Album: "I Just Wanted to Create This World That People Could Escape To"

The prolific artist talks producing through hearing loss, inviting fans into his personal paracosm and the creative process behind his new album.


ford.'s Latest Single, "In My Eyes," Is A Promising Preview of Sophomore Album

Out today, "In My Eyes" is the fourth single to be released ahead of the album, due October 16th, via ODESZA's Foreign Family Collective.


Kasbo Drops Two New Album Singles, "Staying in Love" and "Skogsrå"

The talented producer's forthcoming album is shaping up nicely.

Moore Kismet

Fresh Off EP Release, Moore Kismet Returns With Banging New Single "Drift"

The song, featuring Bajillionaire, was released September 11th via Bassrush Records.


TOKiMONSTA Announces North American Tour, Releases "Say Yes" With VanJess

"It’s my first real dance record and I’m excited to share it with the world," TOKiMONSTA said of her new single.