After months of teasing, Marshmello has finally released Shockwave, a 12-track masterstroke channeling the producer's long-lost electronic roots.

The record kicks off with the spellbinding "Fairytale," a brooding beat that eventually culminates in a thick melodic trap drop with booming hip-hop 808s. The tongue-in-cheek "Supernovacane" follows, in which the polarizing producer tips his helmet to his haters with a flippant vocal intro. "Marshmello is the most overrated electronic music artist by the way, ever to exist, of all-time," whines an uncredited blowhard. "It's so mediocre. To have it become so popular makes no sense."

One of the album's most anticipated cuts, "Jiggle It," delivers thanks to a signature performance by TroyBoi, whose deep and quirky trap sound is unmistakable. "Back It Up" follows as the most club-driven track on the record, providing a Jersey Club banger produced alongside one of the genre's trailblazers, DJ Sliink, before "VIBR8" conjures early 2010s trap vibes.

Marshmello's new album "Shockwave" was released on June 11th, 2021.

Marshmello's new album "Shockwave" was released on June 11th, 2021.

Recommended Articles

Monstercat - Compound 2021 (Art)

Monstercat Teams Up With Westwood Recordings for Celebratory 8-Track Compilation

The expansive compilation celebrates the return of Monstercat's annual Vancouver-based Compound event.

steve aoki armin van buuren

Steve Aoki and Armin van Buuren Join Forces for First-Ever Collab, "Music Means Love Forever"

Aoki and van Buuren's anthemic new single arrives via the former's Dim Mak imprint.


AREA21 Announce Debut Album Release Date, Tease First-Ever Performance at Life Is Beautiful

We might see the live show debut of Martin Garrix and Maejor sooner than we thought.

The middle of Shockwave is comprised of its previously released singles "Back In Time" (with Carnage), "Bad Bitches" (with Megan Thee Stallion and Nitti Gritti), "Hitta" (with Eptic and Juicy J) and "House Party" (with Subtronics), which dabble in house, trap, and dubstep.

The SIPPY collab "Candy Kid" arrives next, infusing rave vibes with a double-dose of drops rooted in head-banging dubstep and hard dance. Mello then taps blossoming bass producer PEEKABOO for "Pushin Stacks," a screeching trap tune with a relentless acid-inspired arrangement similar to his Deadbeats hit "Whistleblower." Mello then ties a bow on Shockwave with its titular track, which moonlights as a blast from the past with its soaring, saccharine future bass production.

You can listen to Shockwave in full below.





Title, Release Date and Tracklist of Marshmello's New Album Leaks on Apple Music

"Shockwave" spans 12 tracks and features a number of high-profile collaborators, such as TroyBoi, Megan Thee Stallion, and Subtronics.

marshmello eptic juicy j

Marshmello's EDM Roots Bubble to the Surface With Ferocious New Collab, "Hitta" With Eptic and Juicy J

Mello has tapped one of the bass music scene's most revered sound designers for an all-out assault on the senses.

marshmello subtronics

Listen to Marshmello and Subtronics' Relentless Dubstep Banger, "House Party"

Just one day ahead of the release of his new album "Shockwave," Marshmello has dropped the curtain on one of its most anticipated collabs.


Hydraulix Drops Genre-Bending, 20-Track Debut Album "Imposter Syndrome"

The expansive and forward-thinking album is the upshot of Hydraulix struggle with lockdown-induced insecurity.


Listen to San Holo's Long-Awaited Sophomore Album, "bb u ok?"

The expansive 20-track album features collabs with Rivers Cuomo of Weezer, Chet Porter, and Mija and Mr. Carmack, among others.


Folk Meets Electronic in the New Super-Collab from Marshmello, benny blanco and Vance Joy: Listen

The trio also shared the official music video for their new single, titled "You."

A photo of DJ/producer Marshmello (real name Christopher Comstock) pointing with a mic in his hand during a performance.

Marshmello Announces New Album is Finished

Mello has teased "Joytime IV" into oblivion.