London-based electronic music duo MKMO have dropped their debut album, the brooding retrowave record Agitprop.

The album kicks off on a menacing note with "Pantheon of the Fallen," a spacey instrumental that slithers with eerie pads. The sound design of the intro doubles as a siren song, leading its listeners through hypnotic soundscapes before a big space rock arrangement takes the fore. The twinkly "19 12" comes next, followed by the album's titular track "Agitprop," which launches with a rumbling, alarm-esque bass patch before transforming into a sinister synthwave jam.

With punchy snares and a pulsing bass-line that sounds like it was plucked from a Blade soundtrack, the ominous ballad "Ederlezi" represents the eight-track album's midpoint. Then comes "Ordinary People," a surefire standout of Agitprop that employs stentorian guitar riffs akin to Explosions In The Sky. Longtime fans of synthwave will find solace in the ensuing tracks, "Kurznachrichten" and "Regulator TOKA," which brim with the genre's classic synth work. MKMO then ties a bow on the record with "Zhuguli," a percussion-driven masterwork.

All in all, Agitprop oozes nostalgia, a motif that MKMO strives to instill in their retrofuturistic music. The record "is more Glasnost than Ghostbusters," the duo said in a press release.

Recommended Articles

Hard Summer

HARD Summer 2021: Here are the Highlights of the SoCal Music Festival's Return

With over six stages, dazzling light displays, a glowing ferris wheel, and colorful decor throughout the venue, the festival felt like a smaller EDC.


"Headbanger's Paradise": Excision Announces New Oceanfront Music Festival in Cancún

The inaugural Paradise Blue festival will feature performances by Zomboy, Virtual Riot, 12th Planet, and three sets from Excision himself.


"Rave Horse" Steals the Show at Tokyo Olympics With EDM Dressage Routine

Mopsie the "rave horse" is growing a colt following.

You can listen to Agitprop in full below.




natalie gotman

Natalie Gotman Drops Sultry, Anthemic Debut Album "Got Love"

This debut is an 11-track revolving door of vocal-driven dance anthems.

Sullivan King Show Some Teeth

Sullivan King Announces Debut Album and Drops Title Track

There's less than a month until Sullivan King's debut album drops.


Skrillex, Starrah and Four Tet Drop Eerie "Butterflies" Music Video: Watch

The video follows a group of friends as they gyrate through glittering city streets, tailed by ghostly figures.


Listen to Mura Masa's Smooth Production on Cosha's Sultry Debut Album, "Mt. Pleasant"

The Grammy-nominated producer contributed to four tracks on Cosha's remarkable debut.


Camelphat Reveals Release Date for Debut Album "Dark Matter," Drops New Single

The 21-track collection has an impressive amount of A-list guest features, including the legendary Noel Gallagher of Oasis.


Subtronics Announces Debut Album in the Works

After a massive 2020, Subtronics has kept busy in the studio.