Skip to main content

After the release of ODESZA's latest single from their fourth album, one thing has never been more clear: they won't settle for the ordinary.

The tandem have never shied away from roaming new sonic frontiers in their illustrious career, but The Last Goodbye is perhaps their biggest canvas for exploration. Case in point are the album cuts "The Last Goodbye" and "Love Letter," which embraced house music in a way ODESZA never have before. But their new single, a subversive single called "Behind The Sun," is markedly more haunting than its predecessors.

"Behind The Sun" samples a song recorded by Simin Ghanem, an Iranian classicial singer born in 1944. Ghanem's Persian chants bellow through ODESZA's spellbinding soundscapes, which slither through the arrangement with tinctures of lo-fi. The duo eventually drop a dark, booming chorus replete with their signature drums and a thunderous low end.

Check out the official music video below.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles


Listen to Skrillex and Steve Aoki's Production on Kid Cudi's Stunning "Entergalactic" Album

"Entergalactic" has been lauded as a creative breakthrough for Cudi, who joined forces with two of the world's most popular electronic producers to breathe life into its music.

Evolutions Festival 1

Dirt Monkey, Jantsen, Mersiv and More to Headline Evolutions Festival 2022

The fest is returning to Pattersonville, New York for a three-day bass music spectacular.


Kaskade, Chris Lake, FISHER, More Announced for FNGRS CRSSD's New NYE Event

The inaugural PROPER NYE is stacked with house music heavyweights.

"While digging through old records we came across a song by the legendary Iranian singer, Simin Ghanem. It was such a beautifully haunting vocal that we couldn’t really get it out of our heads," ODESZA explained in a joint statement. "Slowly we started to build these symphonic elements around her and piece by piece it started to become this big anthemic track. We wanted to incorporate pieces of live drumming in a new way and ended up running various snare drum elements through a resonator and modulating them to each hit. Overall we really love how this song came together, bringing the past into the present is something we find really exciting and inspiring."

ODESZA are set to take The Last Goodbye on the road after announcing an expansive amphitheater tour, which will kick off in late July with a triptych of hometown performances at Seattle's Climate Pledge Arena. According to a press release shared with, fans can expect an "all-new set" and innovative visuals throughout the tour, the biggest headlining run of their career. San Holo, Elderbrook and Ben Böhmer have been confirmed as support, among others.

The Last Goodbye will release in full on July 22nd, 2022. You can pre-save the album here and check out the tracklist below.

ODESZA - The Last Goodbye Tracklist

1. This Version Of You (feat. Julianna Barwick)
2. Wide Awake (feat. Charlie Houston)
3. Love Letter (feat. The Knocks)
4. Behind The Sun
5. Forgive Me (feat. Izzy Bizu)
6. North Garden
7. Better Now (feat. MARO)
8. The Last Goodbye (feat. Bettye LaVette)
9. All My Life
10. Equal (feat. Låpsley)
11. Healing Grid
12. I Can’t Sleep
13. Light Of Day (feat. Ólafur Arnalds)





ODESZA Drop Haunting Single From Upcoming Fourth Album: Listen to "Wide Awake"

The track is the fifth single to arrive ahead of ODESZA's long-awaited fourth album, "The Last Goodbye."


ODESZA and Ólafur Arnalds Captivate In Final "The Last Goodbye" Album Single: Listen to "Light of Day"

"Light of Day" is a collision of Grammy-nominated talent that serves as the final glimpse into ODESZA's long-awaited fourth album, "The Last Goodbye."


ODESZA's "The Last Goodbye" Album Is a Deeply Personal Mosaic of Their Memories: Listen

By interpolating recordings from their youth, ODESZA produce a song-cycle of candid and captivating vignettes depicting the experiences that led them to this moment.


ODESZA Share Behind-the-Scenes Footage of the Making of "The Last Goodbye"

The video features in interview with fabled Detroit singer-songwriter Bettye LaVette, whom ODESZA collaborated with after sampling 1965’s "Let Me Down Easy."


ODESZA Announce Release Date and Tracklist of New Album, "The Last Goodbye"

ODESZA also released "Love Letter," a collaboration with The Knocks.


Listen to ODESZA's Stunning New Single, "Better Now"

The song, which features Portuguese singer-songwriter MARO, follows the release of ODESZA's momentous comeback single, "The Last Goodbye."


Listen to ODESZA's First "NO.SLEEP" Mix In Over Two Years

The 13th installment of ODESZA's fan-favorite mix series contains music by Flume, Fred again.., DROELOE and more.


"We're Back": ODESZA Return for First Live Show In Three Years

ODESZA unveiled all-new visuals and production at the sold-out show in Seattle, which sets in motion an innovative tour with ambitions to be carbon negative.