Skip to main content

After the release of ODESZA's newest single, the hype for their long-awaited fourth album is bubbling over.

The Last Goodbye is less than two weeks away, but the beloved duo have decided to give fans one last taste of honey before the hive. ODESZA today released "Light of Day," a haunting collaboration with fellow Grammy-nominated multi-instrumentalist Ólafur Arnalds.

A cinematic electronic ballad, the cathartic "Light of Day" finds ODESZA further embracing house music in ways they never have before. The track's four-on-the-floor rhythms are beautifully contrasted by the ambient textures of Arnalds, a renowned Icelandic musician who ODESZA called "an incredible artist."

"'Light of Day' was one of the first songs off the record we finished," ODESZA said in a press release shared with "It served as a bookend for the record—and really, a guiding light for the project as a whole."

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

daft punk

How a Long-Running Daft Punk Prank at Burning Man Found New Life With RÜFÜS DU SOL

The "Daft Punk at the Trash Fence" prank mutated into something entirely different.


BYOR Drops "Flavour," a Stimulating Single Fit for the Dancefloor

"Flavor" arrives by way of Tiësto's Musical Freedom imprint.

white claw

White Claw Expands Nightlife Blueprint With 30 Club Events

In partnership with The Warehouse Project, White Claw is teaming up with venues that "champion music genres such as techno, disco and house."

"This song started with Ólafur, an incredible artist and longtime friend, sending an initial idea our way," the duo continued. "The vocal sample is from a 1970s folk song titled 'Mary' that we discovered digging through old records - featuring Stephen Ambrose. We see that vocal as a slow building mantra of sorts, something we that hoped would evoke this feeling of being at peace."

Listen to "Light of Day" below along with the other singles from The Last Goodbye, which you can pre-save here. The LP is scheduled to release on July 22nd via Foreign Family Collective/Ninja Tune.

ODESZA - "The Last Goodbye" Tracklist

1. This Version Of You (feat. Julianna Barwick)
2. Wide Awake (feat. Charlie Houston)
3. Love Letter (feat. The Knocks)
4. Behind The Sun
5. Forgive Me (feat. Izzy Bizu)
6. North Garden
7. Better Now (feat. MARO)
8. The Last Goodbye (feat. Bettye LaVette)
9. All My Life
10. Equal (feat. Låpsley)
11. Healing Grid
12. I Can’t Sleep
13. Light Of Day (feat. Ólafur Arnalds)





ODESZA Drop Haunting Single From Upcoming Fourth Album: Listen to "Wide Awake"

The track is the fifth single to arrive ahead of ODESZA's long-awaited fourth album, "The Last Goodbye."


ODESZA's "The Last Goodbye" Album Is a Deeply Personal Mosaic of Their Memories: Listen

By interpolating recordings from their youth, ODESZA produce a song-cycle of candid and captivating vignettes depicting the experiences that led them to this moment.


The Road to ODESZA's Fourth Album Continues With Haunting Single, "Behind The Sun"

ODESZA also explained the recording process of the new single, which samples an Iranian classical singer.


ODESZA Announce Release Date and Tracklist of New Album, "The Last Goodbye"

ODESZA also released "Love Letter," a collaboration with The Knocks.


ODESZA Share Behind-the-Scenes Footage of the Making of "The Last Goodbye"

The video features in interview with fabled Detroit singer-songwriter Bettye LaVette, whom ODESZA collaborated with after sampling 1965’s "Let Me Down Easy."


Listen to ODESZA's Stunning New Single, "Better Now"

The song, which features Portuguese singer-songwriter MARO, follows the release of ODESZA's momentous comeback single, "The Last Goodbye."


Listen to ODESZA's First "NO.SLEEP" Mix In Over Two Years

The 13th installment of ODESZA's fan-favorite mix series contains music by Flume, Fred again.., DROELOE and more.