New year, new compilation from Excision's Subsidia Records.

After the label debuted in late 2020 with a gargantuan 118-track release, it has since released two thematic follow-up compilations—the second volumes of the wonky Dusk and the relentless, heavy-hitting Night. Subsidia has now dropped the curtain on the sophomore edition of Dawn, which focuses on future bass and melodic dubstep.

An unquestioned highlight of the compilation is a hotly anticipated collaboration between Excision, Whales, and RIELL called "The Last Time," which kicks off the record with a soaring punch. What follows is an 18-track cycle of riveting, vocal-driven bass music that lends to a euphoric journey through the uplifting avenues of EDM.

Standouts from Dawn: Vol. 2 are aplenty. OMAS and Les Gold's "Lost In Outer Space" is a hypnotic, gritty melodic trap tune brimming with soul. Computa's "Feel Alive" does just what the title suggests by emboldening listeners with a blissed-out drop featuring frenetic, fluttering arpeggios. Cyrus Gold and Elation's "Other Side" beautifully interpolates potent future bass chords with metallic dubstep fills in a genre-bending masterpiece.

Recommended Articles


"Headbanger's Paradise": Excision Announces New Oceanfront Music Festival in Cancún

The inaugural Paradise Blue festival will feature performances by Zomboy, Virtual Riot, 12th Planet, and three sets from Excision himself.


"Rave Horse" Steals the Show at Tokyo Olympics With EDM Dressage Routine

Mopsie the "rave horse" is growing a colt following.

Screen Shot 2021-07-20 at 10.28.22 AM

Sovereign Records Drops Dancefloor-Ready "Sovereign Collection Vol.1"

Sovereign Records' latest offering is an inclusive 10-track compilation album.

You can listen to Dawn: Vol. 2 in full below.





Excision Announces Artists on Upcoming Subsidia Melodic Showcase, "Dawn Vol. 2"

The upcoming compilation album is set to feature a new collaboration from Excision and Whales.


Excision's Subsidia Records Drops 20-Track "Night Volume 2" Compilation

Antiserum, Cyclops, Downlink, Jeanie, and more feature on this menacing dubstep song-cycle.

Excision's Evolution Stage at Thunderdome

Excision Shares List of Bass Music Heavyweights to Appear on Subsidia Records' "Dusk: Volume 2"

The second volume of his label's "Dusk" series is set to feature music from Dion Timmer, Sam Lamar, and Excision himself, among others.


Excision's Subsidia Records Announces Third Entry in "Dusk" Compilation Series

The upcoming compilation will feature music from Ray Volpe, Cyrus Gold, Blurrd Vzn, ZIZI, and more.


Excision Announces New Subsidia Compilation Dropping Next Week

Another dose of hard-hitting dubstep is on tap for fans of Excision and his new record label.


Excision's Subsidia Records Revs Up For Release of Massive "Night Vol. 3" Compilation

Subsidia is returning with a heavy dose of bass fans are not going to want to miss.