Skip to main content

Carl Cox has revealed Electronic Generations, his first album in over a decade.

Scheduled for release on September 16th, the LP will be the first from Cox after signing a momentous record deal with BMG in May 2021. The legendary techno producer says the album, his first since 2011's All Roads Lead To The Dancefloor, was inspired by the many crowds he's galvanized into dancing over the years.

"I feel very lucky to have the opportunity to share this album," Cox said in a press release shared with "As a live artist and a DJ I get to play all over the world and to see people enjoying the shared experience of being together and dancing. I’ve pulled together all the elements that I’ve learned from watching those crowds, added my sound and tried to bring you a true electronic music experience."

Cox also dropped the curtain on a new single from Electronic Generations, a collaboration with fellow techno aesthete Nicole Moudaber. Relentless and visceral, "How It Makes You Feel" is a captivating rush of acid house with the ferocity of a signature Cox record.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles


The Results Are In: Here Are the Winners of the 2022 Electronic Dance Music Awards

Electronic dance music fans from around the world made their voices heard in deciding who is best-in-class across over two dozen categories.

moore kismet

Listen to Moore Kismet's Debut Album, a Vulnerable Window Into an Elusive Journey to Self-Love

The effervescent "UNIVERSE" showcases the incomparable talents of a dyed-in-the-wool EDM flag-bearer.


Opiuo Drops First Single In Over a Year: Listen to the Stunning "Gravitate"

"Gravitate" marks the first track from Opiuo's highly-anticipated forthcoming album.

"In today's darkness of techno I wanted to create something more jovial. So the original is quite an easy track to enjoy, it's very bubbly and bouncy," Cox said of the new single. "But with this new version Nicole has made a very dark twisted re-imagining. It's now very much epic techno—which you have to play from beginning to end to get the full experience. It takes you on a journey, and it just gets stronger and stronger with its twists and turns."

"Nicole is a genius," he continued. "She's able to take my original concept which might not be totally the kind of record she would make, but she likes a challenge and she set the bar high and ran with it. I think she's done a wonderful job with this one."

You can stream "How It Makes You Feel" here and check out the Electronic Generations tracklist below. The digital version of the album also comes with a second volume of pre-remixes, including "Deep Space X" (with Juan Atkins) and "Speed Trials on Acid" (with Fatboy Slim).

Carl Cox - Electronic Generations Tracklist:

1) Electronic Generations (El Rancho Mix)
2) How It Makes You Feel
3) Our Time Will Come
4) Heads Up
5) Toys Out Of The Pram
6) Bring It Back
7) Deep Space X
8) Lokma
9) Keep The Pressure On
10) Get After It
11) Line Lock
12) World Gone Mad
13) Speed Trials On Acid
14) Move The Crowd
15) Apollo Beings
16) See The Sun Rising
17) Electronic Generations Reprise




Carl cox

Carl Cox Signs Record Deal With BMG Ahead of First Album in a Decade

The legendary techno and house music producer's last full-length album dropped back in 2011.

Carl cox

Carl Cox Announces Forthcoming Mix of Exclusive Awesome Soundwave Releases

Cox is rewarding artists who explore new sounds and ideas.

eric prydz arc

Carl Cox, Charlotte de Witte, More Announced for Chicago's ARC Festival: See the Full 2022 Lineup

A number of the most iconic artists in techno and house music are set for performances at ARC 2022—as well as some of the genres' brightest.

Carl cox

Carl Cox on Socially Distanced Nightlife: "It Defies the Ethos of What Brings Us Together"

The house music legend is yearning for the clubbing nights of yesteryear.

LNADJ_CarlCox (1) (1)

Carl Cox, Eats Everything, Nightmares On Wax to Headline the Next "Set for Love" Weekender Stream

The livestream event, hosted by Last Night A DJ Saved My Life, will fundraise for COVID-19 relief.

Carl Cox and Adam Beyer for RESISTANCE Ibiza

Carl Cox and Adam Beyer Lead the 2020 RESISTANCE Ibiza Residency

RESISTANCE, Ultra Music Festival’s house and techno brand, returns to Ibiza for its fourth season.


Carl Cox Partners With Social Virtual Reality Platform, Sensorium Galaxy

A true-to-life virtual representation of Cox will stream DJ sets via the platform.