The final season premiere for Game of Thrones' highly anticipated season 8 is less than a week away, and a forthcoming compilation album from HBO and Columbia Records is adding to the excitement. 

On April 26th, For The Throne (Inspired by the HBO series) is expected to drop with a combination of new music and recent releases from Ellie Goulding, Travis Scott, The Weeknd, SZA, Lil Peep, and more. 

The new compilation continues in a similar vein of Game of Thrones' previous Catch The Throne mixtapes, which amounted to a total of two volumes. The most recent edition, volume two, appeared prior to the show's fifth season back in 2015. 

Recommended Articles

Karim Naas

Karim Naas Delivers Kaleidoscopic Club Anthem, "M.I.A"

"M.I.A" marks Naas' fifth offering of the year.


Mersiv Redefines Bass Music on Metamorphic Debut Album, "Pretty Dark Loud"

Mersiv's first album explores his signature sound with depth and clarity.

"Wide Awake"

Sonny Fodera's Decade-Long Experience Shines In New Album, "Wide Awake"

Fodera's new 14-track album is his most ambitious record to date.

For The Throne will also receive a physical vinyl release. The physical version of the fourteen-track compilation will feature nine different cover variants, one for each house crest. Undoubtedly, the varied, limited run will satisfy the series' most dedicated fans. 

Check out the trailer for For The Throne, which includes a full list of artists on the forthcoming compilation release, here.



The Chainsmokers, Migos, and More Create Vocal Cover of Game of Thrones Theme

The Chainsmokers join forces with Migos and a variety of famous athletes to recreate the Game of Thrones theme for Mountain Dew.


Ellie Goulding and Silk City Confirm New Single, Announce Release Date

A trifecta of contemporary music superstars are set to collide to mark the return of Diplo and Mark Ronson's Silk City.

A photo of ODESZA courtesy of Tonje Thileson.

Game of Thrones Season 8 Promo Features Music from ODESZA

Live electronic duo ODESZA lent some of their music to HBO to hype up the final season of Game of Thrones.