Skip to main content

From acid jazz and reggae to downtempo and bossa nova, Eric Hilton explored it all as one half of renowned electronic music duo Thievery Corporation

Yet as a solo artist, Hilton's true love lies with trip-hop. It's a genre he helped to create with a pioneering approach to sound design, highlighted by ingenious sampling, moody synths and psychedelic lo-fi. 

Now Hilton is taking an opportunity to revisit these roots with his newly announced Lost Dialect album, the titular track of which is out now. It's a 10-track opus that, according to Hilton, consciously brought him back to his "early days" of producing trip-hop when he was "combining sample collages with grooves," he tells

For the grooves, Hilton self-recorded all of the album's bass, keys and synths. He stayed mindful of his use of plugins and employed vintage gear, like the E-mu SP-1200, to fold in crunchy textures and more "human-like" sonic imperfections.

"I wanted a more 'analog-sounding' record this time," Hilton said.

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles


One Dead, Dozens Injured After Stage Collapses at Spanish EDM Festival

Sources say Medusa experienced "strong gusts of wind" that led to the death of a 22-year-old man after part of the festival's main stage collapsed.


Look Inside SOMA Tent, the Best Dancefloor at Outside Lands 2022

In a "festival full of festivals," the vibes at the SOMA Tent were as irresistible as they were untamed.


Hardwell Opens Up About His Soul-Stirring Road to Reinvention: "It Feels Way More Like Freedom"

A candid interview with Hardwell, who is creating, performing and living on his own terms after over a decade in electronic dance music.

Then there are the samples, which pay homage to 1970s musical icons like Pharaoh Sanders, Sun Ra, Roy Ayers and George Clinton. All members of the influential Afrofuturist movement, their soulful, freeform approach to music-making and improvisation paved the way for—among other things—the experimental nature of today's electronica.

The cover art for Eric Hilton's upcoming album, "Lost Dialect." 

The cover art for Eric Hilton's upcoming album, "Lost Dialect." 

"It was music from the streets that looked to both the stars and the ancient cultures," Hilton explained. "The techniques of making trip-hop music are like lost dialects I can pull out and revisit... I dusted off vintage samplers and synths in the hopes of communicating with the spirits." 

Lost Dialect is due out July 1st, 2022 under Hilton's own Montserrat House Music banner.

Lost Dialect Tracklist

1) Lost Dialect
2) Spiral Aura
3) Ra
4) A Joyous Revolution
5) Nishati
6) Flowering Soul
7) Odysseus
8) Earth Ship
9) Arteries
10) Libra





Take a Trip to the "Walkerverse" With Alan Walker's New Album

The project delivers three new tracks and is the first installment of Walker's forthcoming album.

Capture One Session4170 DONE

ARTBAT Launch New Record Label, UPPERGROUND [Exclusive]

ARTBAT will also soon release a new single on the imprint, which they said will release "music that moves you, lets you dance and fills you with emotions."


KUČKA Enlists Flume, Nosaj Thing on Spellbinding Debut Album, "Wrestling"

KUČKA returned to solo music in 2019 with the release of the project's lead single, "Drowning," produced by Flume.

Wave Racer

Wave Racer Announces Debut Album, "To Stop From Falling Off The Earth"

"To Stop From Falling Off The Earth" will explore how Wave Racer overcame anxiety, depression, and isolation.

ZYRA Press Shot

Zyra's Debut EP is Her First Solo Project Since ODESZA's "Say My Name": Listen

"There need to be more girls inspired to create their own music and take control of the process, and hopefully I can be someone’s inspiration someday.”

Alison Wonderland

Alison Wonderland Announces Tracklist, Release Date of Third Album, "Loner"

She also dropped a brand new single called "New Day" alongside an Old West-inspired music video.


TSHA Confirms Release Date of Debut Album, Drops Stunning Lead Single: Listen

"Capricorn Sun" will deliver 12 tracks including TSHA's latest, "Giving Up."

Alison Wonderland

"Loner": Alison Wonderland's Third Album Is the Rallying Call of Our Times

The album finds Wonderland at her most raw and lucid, leaning into deeply vulnerable lyrics and bewitching sound design.