Skip to main content

Legendary electronic music producer Sven Väth has announced Catharsis, his first album in almost 20 years.

Revered as a pathfinder in techno and ambient music, Väth's decades-long influence on the electronic music scene is matched by few. And despite the 19-year gap between Catharsis and his last album, 2002's Fire, it's obvious that Väth is still very much a techno aesthete:

"All my touring, intense experiences, incredible people. Life moving fast," Väth wrote in an announcement shared via social media. "Catharsis came gushing out as I slowed down. It was almost an out of body experience. Mystic pauses. Time to reflect. Every track on this record came from accumulated moments and emotions finding their voice."

After its scheduled release on February 25th, 2022, Catharsis, which was produced alongside Gregor Tresher, will be the 50th album to appear on Väth's storied Cocoon Recordings banner. A press release issued to announce the 13-track album describes it as a "musical autobiography that charts Sven's most extraordinary life in techno."

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Kendoll and Chuck Shadow

KENDOLL Teams Up With Chuck Shadow For Electrifying House Single "Down Low"

After a short break, Kendoll is at it again with her first release of 2022.


ILLENIUM, PNAU, Lady Gaga Top Dance/Electronic Categories At Billboard Music Awards

It was another year of stiff competition among the dance music industry's heavyweight contributors and emerging talents.

Above & Beyond

Above & Beyond Usher In New Era Of Ambient Music With "Reflections" Imprint

The debut offering from Above & Beyond's third label imprint has arrived.

"My imagination for this record was fueled by the many cultural experiences and encounters I have had in my life," Väth added. "They gave me the strength to find a way, the way to myself."

In celebration of the momentous record, Väth has launched a special vinyl issue. Fans can pre-order the 3x12" vinyl, which features a gatefold sleeve with metallic copper foil embossing and an additional art print insert, here.

Sven Väth - Catharsis Tracklist:

1. What I Used to Play
2. The Worm
3. The Inner Voice
4. Catharsis
5. Feiern
6. Mystic Voices
7. Being In Love
8. Butoh
9. Nyx
10. The Cranes of Gangtey Valley
11. We Are
12. Silvi’s Dream
13. Panta Rhei





Disclosure Announces First LP In Five Years, Shares Tracklist Along with Album Single "ENERGY"

The album will feature Kehlani, Aminé, Common, Kelis, and many more.


REZZ Announces New Album is Finished

Space Mom is looking to the future through rose-colored glasses.

A press photo of Flume (real name Harley Edward Streten) standing in front of a sky blue background.

Flume Announces He's Working On New Music, Hopes to Have an Album "Done Before the End of the Year"

Flume joined George Breakfast’s "Bangers & Bants" to chat about new music on the horizon.

must die

MUST DIE! Announces New Full-Length Album, "CRISIS VISION"

The bass music virtuoso's sophomore album will drop in May 2021.

Alison Wonderland

Alison Wonderland Announces Release Date of First Whyte Fang Song In Over 6 Years

Alison Wonderland told fans they can expect to hear "all the weird stuff."

swedish house mafia the weeknd

Swedish House Mafia Announce First Tour In 10 Years, Drop Long-Awaited Collab With The Weeknd

The long-awaited "Moth To A Flame" has finally arrived alongside the announcement of a massive, 44-date global tour.


ZHU's Cryptic Website Update Could Point to Release Date of New Album

The Grammy-nominated electronic music artist also announced a new single with fabled Malaysian singer-songwriter Yuna.