Skip to main content

Surging synthwave outfit The Midnight have announced a brand new album.

Set for release September 9th via Counter Records, Heroes is the final album of a trilogy that spawned in 2018 with Kids, which was followed by the scintillating Monsters.

"For me, Kids is self-knowledge, Monsters is self-love, and then Heroes is empathy,” said The Midnight's Tyler Lyle. "I got into depth psychology and this idea of etiology, the way a human forms. The world doesn't get better but we do. We grow into ourselves. We grow into our voice."

The Midnight's new single "Heartbeat" is the latest glimpse into the album following last month's release of "Change Your Heart Or Die," a kinetic blend of synthwave and indie rock. The uplifting track, the band says, is "a reminder that love and empathy is not a finite resource."

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles


The Results Are In: Here Are the Winners of the 2022 Electronic Dance Music Awards

Electronic dance music fans from around the world made their voices heard in deciding who is best-in-class across over two dozen categories.

moore kismet

Listen to Moore Kismet's Debut Album, a Vulnerable Window Into an Elusive Journey to Self-Love

The effervescent "UNIVERSE" showcases the incomparable talents of a dyed-in-the-wool EDM flag-bearer.


Opiuo Drops First Single In Over a Year: Listen to the Stunning "Gravitate"

"Gravitate" marks the first track from Opiuo's highly-anticipated forthcoming album.

According to a press release issued to announce Heroes, the album doubles as the dawn of a new sonic shift for the pathfinding duo, who are celebrated for their unique blend of retrowave and rock music. They recently expanded their cast to include three live musicians: Justin Klunk (saxophone and synth), Lelia Broussard (bass) and Royce Whittaker (guitar).

Check out the tracklist of Heroes below and pre-save the album here.

The Midnight - Heroes Tracklist

1. Golden Gate
2. Brooklyn. Friday. Love.
3. Heartbeat
4. A Place of Her Own
5. Heroes
6. Heart Worth Breaking
7. Loved by You
8. Aerostar
9. Change Your Heart or Die
10. Avalanche
11. Souvenir
12. Photograph
13. Energy Never Dies, It Just Transforms





The Midnight Announce Upcoming Orchestral Version of Debut Album, "Endless Summer"

The famed synthwave duo have teamed up with Magik*Magik to reimagine their 2016 debut album, "Endless Summer."


The Midnight on Seminal Album "Monsters" and the Volcanic Potential of Synthwave Culture [Interview]

"Synthwave is not especially new, but I am interested in being able to have it tell its own story from its own symbols and its own sense of time and place."


The Midnight Conjure Synthwave Magic on Halloween-Themed EP "Horror Show"

The leading synthwave duo surprised fans with the release of an Amazon Music exclusive two weeks before Halloween.

the chainsmokers

The Chainsmokers Reveal Tracklist, Release Date, Story Behind New Album, "So Far So Good"

The title of The Chainsmokers's fourth album derives from a French film released in 1995.


The Midnight Announce 2022 North American Tour

In addition to the tour announcement, the synthwave duo released a new music video for their track "Fire in the Sky."

The Midnight

The Midnight Drop Glam Metal Single "Change Your Heart or Die," Announce New Tour

The 17-city tour will take the duo and their supporting act, Nightly, across the U.S. this fall.


The Midnight Attain Retrowave Greatness on Nostalgic Third Album "Monsters"

The follow-up to The Midnight's 2018 album "Kids" showcases the increasingly broader appeal of the retrowave genre.