Skip to main content

What So Not (real name Chris "Emoh" Emerson) has scored and starred in a mini-documentary about Shipstern Bluff, a renown surfing location that is home to massive waves. 

The documentary runs about four and a half minutes long and details the hours before and leading up to Emerson tackling a gigantic wave, including the show he played just hours before his surfing excursion. The documentary also features some unreleased music from Emerson himself, Thijs of NOISIΛ, Daniel Johns, and ay ay. Undoubtedly, this documentary highlights the many talents of Emerson. 

What So Not began as a duo comprised of Emerson and Flume. After Flume's departure from the project, Emerson went on to release a slew of successful songs including "Lone" with JOY. and "Waiting" with RL Grime and Skrillex, as well as his well-received album Not All The Beautiful Things. Recently, he's collaborated with Diablo on his wild drum and bass tune "OOGAHDAM!"

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Cookie Monsta

Cookie Monsta's First Posthumous Single Battles Against Destructive Self-Talk: Listen to "I'm Delighted"

The first posthumous single from Cookie Monsta, who tragically died in 2020, is a collaboration with Flux Pavilion and Koven.


Kygo Revealed as Headliner of Forbes' Under 30 Summit Music Festival In Detroit

The 2022 summit will take place October 2-5 at the Detroit Opera House.

four tet

Watch Four Tet's 3-Hour DJ Set From a Historic 1771 War Fort

The explosive performance went down at the inaugural Making Time Festival in Philadelphia.

Follow What So Not:




Flux Pavilion Announces What So Not Collab

Flux Pavilion and What So Not recently shared an image of themselves in a studio and announced a collaboration is on the way.

A photo of Australian DJ/producer What So Not with yellow light rays shining around him during a performance at Decadence courtesy of Rukes.

What So Not Performs Entire Ubbi Dubbi Festival Set in Spite of Concussion

What So Not suffered a concussion at Ubbi Dubbi Festival and performed anyways.


What So Not Announces New Music Releasing This Week

Fans of What So Not can finally breathe a sigh of relief after he announced "something new" dropping this week.

Daniel Johns What So Not

What So Not Announces Collaborative Project With Iconic Musician Daniel Johns

What So Not says the project will mark his first musical offering that isn't dance music-related.